Return to event agenda
2013 Symposium Speaker

Namsoo Chang, Ph.D.
Ewha Womans University, Seoul, South Korea

Dr. Chang is presently a full professor of Nutrition in the Department of Nutritional Science and Food Management at Ewha Womans University.  She graduated, summa cum laude, in Nutrition Science from Ewha Womans University and received her Ph.D. from Rutgers University, USA.  She was trained at Yale-New Haven Hospital for her dietetic internship training and worked as Research/Clinical Dietitian at Yale-New Haven Hospital Clinical Research Center and Washington University Lipid Research Center.  Dr. Chang served as past President of the Korean Nutrition Society and Vice President of the Korean Society of Medical Nutrition Science. Dr. Chang has served on the WHO/FAO Expert Working Group on Vitamins/Minerals Risk Assessment, NIH/Office of Dietary Supplements Annual Bibliography Projects, the Editorial Board of the Annals of Nutrition and Metabolism, and on a number of committees including the Upper Limits committee (chair), Korean Dietary Reference Intakes, Scientific Program and Nutrition Policy committees of the Korean Nutrition Society, Publicity committee of the Korean Dietetic Association.  She now serves as a member of the Advisory Committee for the Korean Nutrition Society, Scientific Advisor for the ILSI Korea, Scientific Program committee for the Korean Society of Maternal and Child Health, and Expert Working Group, Human Safety Standards, Korea Food and Drug Administration. As a researcher and educator, Dr Chang has done research in the field of vitamin nutrition and metabolism in health and disease, and published over many archival journal papers and presented many papers in international conferences.  Dr. Chang is a member of many professional societies including the American Society for Nutrition, American Dietetic Association, Society for Experimental Biology and Medicine, and Korean Nutrition Society. She was the recipient of the National Medal for Promotion of Science and Technology by the Ministry of Education, Science and Technology, Korea (2009).